• Page:

TOPIC: Interesting compression info.

Interesting compression info. 3 years 8 months ago #142823

• 63 Sabre
  • 63 Sabre's Avatar Topic Author
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167
I have my '77 140hp Evinrude up for sale, good running motor with t/t. I had a buyer inquire about the compression and I told him it was mid 70s on all four. He said he'd have to rebuild it and then the "negotiations" began, I wasn't going to sell the farm for one man's opin.
Tried to inform him that this was a factory modified motor for running on E-whatever gas. Even has the factory sticker on it stating that. The modification include lower compression, don't know why but here's an interesting discussion about that issue. For you guys info.
It's a cut and paste and then I'll put in a picture of the sticker that I have on my motor.

Low Compression Pistons.... Looking for a reason..
Options
‎12-03-2014 07:30

Hello E-Nation,

I'm new to E-Nation, but not new to the boating world. I'm looking for a non-bias answer to a question that I've heard asked a lot. I work on a lot of older Johnson/Evinrudes and the first thing I do with one is check the spark and compression. 90% of these engines are older then I am, so I don't know a lot of the little things about them. The first time I had, what I thought at the time, low compression numbers (80's and 90's) I told my boss that this engine has a ring issue. He told me that it was common for the loopers to have low comp numbers. So I took that to heart and didn't think twice about it. Lately I've been thinking about it more and more... Doing some reading on forums, I found someone that talked about the fuel changing and taking the lead out of it, John Rudes went to a lower compression to allow a lower octain fuel to be ran. That makes sense to me... Today my boss told me 2 things that I couldn't really wrap my head around. Let me know what you think, as I have no one else to ask...