Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: '72 Evinrude Starflite 85hp (85293R)

'72 Evinrude Starflite 85hp (85293R) 2 years 11 months ago #144392

In November, I bought a "new to me" '72 Fabuglas Trident Mark II with a '72 Evinrude Starflite 85hp outboard. I am quite new to owning a boat and have absolutely no real information about this boat/engine. What I do know is that it was run last summer. When I got it home, I winterized everything. The engine turned over (starter works and not bound up) and there was no water in the gear oil.

--Issues and Questions--

When I went to hit the wires with anti-corrosion spray, I noticed that the wires coming out of the amplifier assembly (power pack?) are all fairly cracked and have exposed wiring (picture attached). There is also a wire that goes from teh amplifier to the stator that is cracked like these (I couldn't get a good picture) I understand this item can be somewhat costly and difficult to locate. Should I just cover these with heat shrink or liquid electrical tape? I really don't want to dump a bunch of money into this thing until I know how well it will work and how much I will actually enjoy boating (never really done it).

I have absolutely NO idea how long this engine has sat unused or when it was last used regularly. Aside from those couple of cracked wires, everything looks in good shape (especially considering the age). However, should I just bite the bullet and replace the impeller and housing for the water pump? Would it really hurt anything to take it out a couple times before replacing these? Also, when I do replace the water pump stuff, while I have it all apart, what all else should I plan on doing?

Finally, tune-up. I got an Evinrude factory service manual for this engine. It has a very lengthy tune-up procedure that details:
1) remove the bypass covers, exhaust covers, and cylinder heads to clean carbon from the cylinder heads and top of pistons.
2) inspect/replace spark plugs