• Page:

TOPIC: I know nothing...

I know nothing... 7 years 2 weeks ago #131092

• peoriaone
  • peoriaone's Avatar Topic Author
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 0
So I have kept my eye on this boat for some time. I have ZERO knowledge of wood boats. The website the boat is listed on seems to be a wood boat restoration company. When I talked to them a year ago I asked when last ran, they said they did not know but its a great boat, very little to do to it, etc.. blah blah.. So having read some posts on wood boats I was always told to get a survey done. I asked them if they knew of a surveyor and they gave me a name. My questions.... If this is a boat restoration place why could they not survey or tell me precisely the condition? Why could they not try and start it? Is the price of 5K crazy? From what the pics and what I see them selling for it seems reasonable, assuming it is not completely dry rot. Opinions?

baylakeclassics.com/1958%20Century%20Coronado.html

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I know nothing... 7 years 2 weeks ago #131098

well when I click one the link it's no longer available. You have valid questions if it's supposed to be a restoration place. $5K and "not much work" usually don't coincide trust me! As long as the engine isn't frozen or the block cracked it's not as bad. You definitely want someone completely familiar with wood boats, especially Century's if possible to look at it. As you've probably seen in my project thread my Century was only $3,500 and "just a couple of cracked bottom planks and a rotted side plank, which turned out to be a pattern boat that I paid way too much for. You really need to check around the transom corners at the bottom both inside and out, notorious for rot, among other things.

Bob
The following user(s) said Thank You: peoriaone

I know nothing... 7 years 2 weeks ago #131100

• peoriaone
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member