• Page:

TOPIC: Lapstrake has some structural issues

Lapstrake has some structural issues 14 years 2 weeks ago #3659

• jill_s
  • jill_s's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
My floor was flexing while boating so I had a look see under the floor and this is what I found.

It was taking on some water which was more than what I would expect. I'm new to wooden boats and didn't realize you are suppose to soak it before you float it which might be part of the problem.

So this is a start well go from here.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Lapstrake has some structural issues 14 years 2 weeks ago #3728

• g3jim
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
Well first up to need to determine why the frame has pulled away from that floor timber. More than likely rotted wood or bad fastener. Because you are loose in that area is why you have flex. You are supposed to soak yes but you need to look into some refastening at minimum and look at the structure. The bile to me from the pictures looks paint sick. In a lapstrake boat that will be no easy task cleaning up.
Check your frames at the bend in the chine area, get the floor timbers refastened or replace them then there are several other options for sistering the frames. Anytime you do put in a sister rib it needs to be fastened into the longitudinal s and the rabbit of the keel if possible.

It is ok for a wood boat to have some movement you do not want them brittle but from you posting you are getting some excessive play n the boat and before you have a problem with a boat load of people get on it. Start with the floor timbers and go from there. USE BRONZE fasteners. Get your self some wood boat restoration books so you under stand some basic rules with fasteners.

Re:Lapstrake has some structural issues 14 years 2 weeks ago #3729

What make, model and year is she?

Wooden lapstrake boats really should NOT leak.